Theory Guide to Massachusetts Recreational Marijuana Laws

Mass Marijuana Laws

I'm ready, what do I need to purchase?

It's pretty simple, a government-issued ID indicating that you are 21 or older. Come down to the Great Barrington dispensary with your driver's license, military ID, or passport and we can let you in. If it's expired, we can't.

Am I allowed to drive after using cannabis?

This is a big NO! Like controlled substances, this is strictly prohibited and dangerous. Operating a vehicle under the influence is still illegal and a crime. This includes the operation of heavy machinery!

What if I'm from out of state?

Still good. Just need legal documentation of age and we can sell to you.

Speaking of driving, how do I transport my cannabis?

Transporting cannabis is similar to transporting alcohol. It's illegal to cruise around with any open containers. "Open containers" are defined as having a package with a broken seal or package from which contents have been removed. So, keep them sealed until you arrive at your destination, then enjoy!

On the topic of quantity, how much can I buy?

Customers are allowed to purchase up to 1 ounce (oz.) of flower or 5 grams of concentrate per day; edibles will be contingent based on potency as part of the 1 oz. limit. You may have more in your home, but having more than the legal limit outside of the house can result in imprisonment or heavy fines.

Where can I use my cannabis?

Consumption may occur in private spaces where smoking and/or vaping is allowed. This does not include Theory facilities but it does include personal residences. You should NOT consume in public spaces as this violates both state and local laws.

What about traveling out of state with cannabis products?

If you purchase in Massachusetts, you must consume in Massachusetts. Even though it's perfectly legal to consume in MA, it is not in our neighboring states.

Know the Laws

Make sure you're familiar with the laws for recreational purchasing, consumption, and transportation.

Bring Identification

Bring a valid form of ID that shows you are 21 or over.

Cash or Debit

All stores only accept cash or debit (including us).

We're excited to share our menu with you to begin browsing!

Save Time. Pre-Register.

Pre-Register & Receive

20% OFF

your first $100 worth of Theory products at your first visit ($20 Value)




Maybe later

Thanks! You have successfully pre-registered and your 20% OFF gift has been credited to your account, which can be redeemed at your first visit.

**Please note, this is for medical patients only.

We look forward to meeting you soon!

Welcome to Theory

Welcome.
Hey, we gotta ask.
Are you 21+?